Champions League

A history of Spanish football teams in the Champions League

In 1992 the the European Cup competition was reformed to become known as The Champions League of which Marseille became the first champions. From there 121 teams have graced the championship, though only a dozen have lifted the trophy.

The current holders are Real Madrid, having beaten Juventus 4-1 in Cardiff to claim an incredible 12th title.

Real Madrid won in 2014, dramatically seeing off Atletico Madrid in the final to become the first team to win the European Cup 10 times. 2 years later, under Zinedine Zidane, they beat Atletico in the final once more for an 11th title. Zidane then made it back to back Champions league titles in 2017. Real Madrid have also managed to win every time they’ve reached the final in the current Champions League format (on 6 occasions).

In total 12 Spanish teams have played in the Champions League group stages, and of them Valencia have played in the most finals without winning, on both of the occasions in which they made it. Though outside of Spain both Milan and Juventus have played and lost in three!

The 13 Spanish clubs that have played in the Champions League are Barcelona, Real Madrid, Valencia, Deportivo La Coruna, Atletico Madrid, Villarreal, Sevilla, Real Sociedad, Athletic Bilbao, Malaga, Mallorca, Celta Vigo and Real Betis.

In the 2016/17 season Barcelona, Real Madrid, Atletico Madrid, Villarreal and Sevilla* all played in the Champions League, with Real Madrid beating Juventus in the final at the Millenium Stadium, Cardiff on June the 3rd, 2017.

*Sevilla qualified by virtue of winning the 2016 Europa League (a feat they also managed the previous year).

For the 2017/18 season Real Madrid, Barcelona and Atletico Madrid automatically qualified to the knock out stages of the Champions League while Sevilla’s 4th place league finish ensured them a play off for entry to the competition. The NSC Olimpiyskiy Stadium in Kiev will host the final on 26th May 2018.