Categorized | Espangol

Copa del Rey

A history of Spain’s Copa del Rey

The Copa del Rey, or ‘‘Spanish Kings Cup’, became the first nationwide club competition in Spanish Football. In 1902, Carlos Padros (who later became president of Real Madrid) suggested a knock-out competition was held to celebrate Alfonso XIII’s coronation as King of Spain. The first edition of the cup only featured four teams (Real Madrid, FC Barcelona, RCD Espanyol and Club Vizcaya), but the competition later developed, in 1905, into the nationwide Copa del Rey.

Kids play Copa del ReyThe cup was initially known as the ‘Copa del Ayuntamiento de Madrid’ (Madrid City Council’s Cup). Between 1905 and 1932, it was called the ‘Copa de Su Majestad El Rey Alfonso XIII’ (His Majesty King Alfonso XIII’s Cup). During the Second Spanish Republic it was known as the ‘Copa del Presidente de la República’ (President of the Republic Cup) and during the Franco’s dictatorship it was known as the ‘Copa del Generalísimo’ (The General’s Cup).

King Alfonso’s early interest in the game lead to patronage of several clubs, characterised by the prefix ‘Real’, such as those displayed in the names of Real Madrid, Real Sociedad, Real Zaragoza and Real Valladolid.

Barcelona have won the competition on the most occasions, with 30 wins.

Current holders are Valencia after they beat Barcelona 2-1, their 8th title.

The 2019/2020 Copa del Rey will be the 117th.

Go to: Previous Winners

About Sam

My name is Sam Attard. Some people call me Sambo. I am a freelance web developer and SEO geek and have been professionally developing websites since 2005. I’m an experienced user of XHTML, CSS, PHP, JQuery and WordPress based websites. I have a metal hip.

Leave a Reply

Twitter   Facebook   rss  

Sign up